Apr 25, 2015
North Metroplex - Community Portal


Member Spotlight
Perrin Field Historical Society
Joined on 6/5/2002
Category: Non-Profit Organizations
is a State of Texas Registered Non-profit Organization dedicated to the preservation of the history of Perrin Army Airfield and Perrin Air Force Base that was located in Grayson county Texas.

1133 Oakridge Drive
Denison, TX 75020
[view map]
Chapin Title Company
TekWav - Ready to ride the wave?!
Duke Walker - Texoma Law Firm
Sisters of Lazarus on Sale at
Texoma Outfitters - Lake Texoma premier hunting and fishing guide
Click here to add your business!
News News
Nikirk named Preston Trail DAR Scholarship Winner
Article By: by Preston Trail NSDAR
Posted: 6/17/2014 Views: 2439  Impressions: 19016
Categories: Education, Government: City, Home Life, Local News, Science / Technology, Social Services

The Preston Trail Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution held their awards banquet at Georgetown Baptist Church on May 15 and named Madeleine Nikirk as their 2014 scholarship award recipient in the amount of $1,500.

Nikirk plans to attend Rice University in the fall. She is sixth in her class of 339 at Sherman High School with a GPA of 4.18. She plans a career in computer science with interests in software and robotics.

The banquet was highlighted by many awards given in appreciation and recognition for hard work. Hostesses for the banquet were Gloria Morton and Desse Anthony and it was catered by Debbie Morris.

The Sons of the American Revolution Color guard posted the Colors at the start of the banquet and they were also given a Certificate of Appreciation. Members of the Color Guard are Don Babbs, James Johnson and Peter Rowley, who were spectacularly dressed for the occasion in period costumes.

TXDAR District II Director Paula Smith was given a Certificate of Appreciation for her generous support and kindness shown to the Preston Trail Chapter. She also delivered awards for the Preston Trail Chapter that were won at the state level.

Georgetown Baptist Church pastor Bobby Hancock was recognized and thanked for allowing the chapter to meet at their facilities. He received $50, Certificate of Appreciation and a basket of goodies for office staff.

The Preston Trail Executive Board were formally acknowledge for their leadership and contributions to a successful year. The members are: Gloria Morton, Vice Regent; Carolyn Dexheimer, Chaplain; Lisa Hall, Registrar; Michelle Alverson, Recording Secretary; Karolyn Burton, Corresponding Secretary; Margaret Alverson, Treasurer; Jeanine Price, Historian; Elizabeth Landers, Librarian.

Carolyn Dexheimer who is both the Good Citizen Contest Chair and the Fundraiser Chair was given a Certificate of Appreciation and recognized for all of her hard work. It was reported that the recent Preston Trail on Cloud 9, a One Act play performance raised $5,922.61 for the Opening Doors for Disabled Veterans grant for wheel chair bound veterans to widen interior doorways.
VFW Post #2772, Sherman Commander Ray Flood was recognized for his support of Opening Doors for Disabled Veterans and was given a Certificate of Appreciation. Jonnie Templeton, the Membership Chair, was recognized with a Certificate of Appreciation for her promotion of new members and her work on their applications.

Women ages 18 and older who are interested in learning about the DAR are encouraged to attend the Preston Trail Chapter meetings. Members must prove lineage with someone who either fought in or gave support to American patriots during the American Revolution. Trained genealogist volunteers are available at no charge to assist in lineage research. For more information, call Regent Lisa Lettie 817.360.6830 or Registrar Lisa Hall 903.464.0797.

Send this story to a friend

Related Categories
Asa Jessee - Financial Advisor